Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

Foods of Paris & Barcelona

2 Comments

I have to share these food pictures I took while on my honeymoon. The food and drink was definitely 70% of the trip that made it delightful. Feast your eyes!

 

20140411-130228.jpg

 

This is a typical breakfast in Paris that I had :). Apricot pistachio tart, raspberry croissant, quiche and yogurt drink. Of course, the hubby helped me eat all this. God help me if I passed by a bakery without purchasing a pain au chocolat. I miss those dearly now that I’m back in The States and the idea of a perfect pastry is just a sugary, messy doughnut :(. Where are the flaky pastry layers? Where is the captivating pure butter aroma? Where is the delicacy?

20140411-130252.jpg

 

Oh yes, there was no lack of duck in France. I discovered after 3 days of eating out in restaurants that every menu in Paris basically looked the same. There were only 4-5 entree choices in any given restaurant and veal stew, duck, steak and fries, ham & cheese salad were on every single one of them. We lucked out at the first restaurant we went to and got moules and frites (actually quite popular too). I like that only romaine lettuce was used in salads and as accompaniments as opposed to iceberg. I also liked that a spicy horseradish sauce was present on every table. I got to appreciate mustard very much while living in WI so this was up my alley.

20140411-130311.jpg

 

Out of all the duck dishes I tried, I think carnard confit was my fave! The skin was perfectly fried, the meet was perfectly seasoned and falling off the bone and the sensation of biting into the moist but crispy dish was enough to make me swoon.

20140411-130328.jpg

 

Now, I HAD to try flan while I was in Spain. Luckily, I found this delectable version at a seaside Mexican Steakhouse restaurant. The dolche de leche sauce was magnificent.

20140411-130343.jpg

 

Another fatty moment in Paris :). And look–it’s the pain au chocolate that’s my fave!

Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

2 thoughts on “Foods of Paris & Barcelona

  1. Love the photos! I’m such a foodie and am actually engaged to a French man so whenever I visit Paris it is an absolute dream.

  2. Thank you, and congrats on your engagement! I’ve just about died every time I smell the buttery scents waft by on the street! If you get to go to Paris often, you are just one lucky gal!

Leave a Reply

