Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

Comfort Eats

Leave a comment

IMG_1834.JPG

Never mind the exorbitant $2.25 PER macaron. Never mind that I had a huge zao cha (dim sum) breakfast with 12 tapas right before. I saw a stunning tower of perfectly displayed macarons in all colors of the pastel rainbow. The door opened and gorgeous gorgeous French bakery smells surrounded me 360. I was transported back to all the Parisian bakeries I bought my pain au chocolat and fruit tarts from everyday I was in France. Normally, I’m not even a big macaron person because the hard candy shell and excessive food coloring usually would appeal to me after another less sweet pastry. But I saw that they were freshly made and filled with chilled cream which was great on that sweltering day. I chose a rose almond flavor and the hubby got the cream pistachio. Dainty. Creamy. Oh-so-French!  IMG_1880.JPG

 

Chili! My best friend from college visited me over the weekend and brought back my favorite Ohio souvenir–Skyline Chili! It’s a thinner, beefier type of chili that is meant to go over coneys or a generous bowl of spaghetti. Really, this is the only way to ever eat chili. I have here a 4-way which includes:

-hot Skyline chili from a can

-thin spaghetti

-“fancy shredded” (which just means really really thin) cheddar cheese

-raw chopped onion

-fresh chives (this is not an authentic Cincinnati ingredient, but I prefer it over beans)

So hearty! So Ohioan! It was the perfect meal to usher in the mild Fall weather.

Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

Leave a Reply

