Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

Down Time Painting

Leave a comment

IMG_1883.JPG

Blocking out some time to do a little art project is good for someone who spends 8 hours of her day staring at a screen. It took me two brief sittings to finish this and while it’s nothing special or masterful, I can point to it tangibly and say, “here’s the result of my free time spent doing this!” I usually paint with oils so going back to acrylic on canvas is a little like downgrading. I even busted out my linseed oil to attempt to liquefy my paints a little more. If not in use for over 8 minutes, your blob of freshly squeezed acrylic paint will dry. I used the cute wooden palette board that came with this painter’s set and I must have been doing something completely wrong because those colors are on there permanently!

I tend to prefer still life paintings, so this chippy little lighthouse scene is quite different than my other works. The paints the set came with are very very basic so without putting too much effort into the art of mixing, the end result is that this piece is full of stark, primary colors. The style is kindergarten-esque, albeit with some control of the brush. I am just proud that I finished and that what I painted could be loosely recognized as objects in real life. 😉

Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

Leave a Reply

