Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

Happy Mix

Leave a comment

This post is a little spring collection of thoughts and happenings. I will start off with this amazing salad that I made on Friday night. I am not a salad girl. Up until last year, I was able to use this as a “never have I ever” card: never have I ever ordered a salad at a restaurant. You can now understand that it is not something I normally eat, make or support, lol. That is not to say I’ve never had an amazing salad! Here is my homage to the popular Asian chicken salad. This has emboldened me–I will be trying out different salads in the future!

-grilled chicken thighs brushed with sesame salad dressing and herbs de provence

-chopped artisan mixed greens

-chopped almonds

-mandarin orange slices

-red onion straws

-scallions

Dressing:

-olive oil

-balsamic vinegar

-light soy sauce

-Chinese chili sauce

-mandarin orange juice from the can

-basil, black pepper, coarse sea salt

  April 5th is Qingming Festival, which is  tomb-sweeping day in China. It is close to a Chinese Memorial Day. My relatives in China would be sweeping the grave of my grandfather who passed away 3 years ago. I was fortunate enough to be able to attend his funeral in 2012 and I want to take the time to honor him. I have included 2 pictures that mean a lot to me.

   Just yesterday on Easter, I attended the Beauty and the Beast musical at Heinz Hall with my hubby. It was magical and the sets were great! Of course, I needed a pastel outfit to go with the occasion!

-baby blue houndstooth Jackie O style jacket

-dusty pink high heeled booties

-lemon yellow new spring Aldo domed satchel (I’m currently obsessed with domed satchels)

Still waiting for spring weather to come to Pittsburgh though. It was 54 degrees and WINDY this weekend as a high and rained the whole past week. C’mon, let’s break 60 degrees!

 

Also, I just subscribed to Ispy for a fun beauty box every month! It’s only $10 (includes shipping!) and includes 4-5 beauty samples along with a cute makeup bag every box! If interested, please use the link below to subscribe:

https://www.ipsy.com/r/u5h94

 

Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

Leave a Reply

