Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

Candle Making Glory

11 Comments

  I haven’t undertaken a crafting project for a while so I just buckled down and did this since I’ve been fantasizing about doing it one day! Here’s what I did to make my very own candle without buying anything! Who would have thought that a burnt out Diamond Candle, Kohl’s candle and Home Goods candle could create a whole new candle at a generous 4oz? A fragrant 4oz candle at Bath and Body Works retails for $10, just sayin’.

  1. Gather up old candles with unburnt wax (if you’re a candle lover/hoarder like I am, you probably will have plenty of candles that have burnt out but still have a sizable chunk of fragrant wax that need some lovin’). What I did with these pieces before was put them under silk flower arrangements that give my fake flowers a very real fragrance! I suppose scented wax pieces work too if you have some half used wax tarts lying around.
  2. Take some thick string or twine and tie one end to a small washer/nut. I just hunted in my utility drawer and found one. Best thing about this is that it’s metal so it doesn’t burn and can be reused for your next homemade candle!
  3. Find a glass or metal container to use as your candle container. I used a previously used candle–no waste!
  4. Dangle the washer end of your twine down the middle of the glass. For future candle releases, I will also put a spot of super glue to secure the wick in the center better. I thought I could wing it this time but of course, my wick ended up getting shifted to the side…
  5. Wrap the other end of your twine to a stick, cut it to a good length and tape it to the stick. I used a single chopstick.
  6. Take a pot, fill it with water and boil it.
  7. Place wax pieces in a separate glass container and put in pot when water has boiled. Wait for however long until the wax melts. Do not use a timer for this. Stand right next to the stove and eyeball this step.
  8. Pour melted wax into your candle container!
  9. Repeat step 7 for however many candle containers you want to melt. I used 3 leftover candles that yielded around 4oz of wax.
  10. Wait for wax to cool and set, then trim the twine to 1/2 inch. Remove and clean off stick.
  11. Stand back and admire your new candle!  No fancy stickers or patterns for this mani. Just 2 coats of this smooth, shiny sorceress purple from OPI! It’s been a while since I have opted for a straight monochromatic mani so in a way, it’s refreshing! Happy 2016!  Hubs and I made ugly sweater cookies. Mine is on the left and definitely not ugly. I would wear that sweater in real life in a pinch! I dedicate to my lovely little Pangur Ban :). The hubs made a Bob Ross Christmas sweater, lol.  Of course, I like to end my post with my Pangur Ban. She is posing as Glamour Puss today on my fainting couch :).
Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

11 thoughts on “Candle Making Glory

  1. Great post! Thanks for the candle DIY 🙂

    XOXO, Ashley
    http://reasyume.com

  2. Glad to see you crafting. I love making candles 👍💗

Leave a Reply

