Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

Demilune Realness

Leave a comment

I wanted to share my latest crafting DIY adventure! I have been working on decorating this one wall of my living room, or formal parlor (as I like to refer to it as) for a month! Here is the fruit of my endeavor!

I took a regular glass mason jar and spray painted it gold in several layers until it was fully opaque. Spray paint is magic. I have the perfect place to do it too–my high ceilinged, unfinished basement! Then I took the bouquet from my wedding and plopped it in! I made my own silk flower arrangement and wrapped it in thick satin ribbon for the day of my wedding. I bought everything at Michaels and the total cost was about $6, I believe. It will last forever and add a bit of romantic sentiment in my home decor ;).

  The gold square tray is from my local thrift shop and the trinket tray is from my sis in law who I believe got it at her local Goodwill. It’s also romantic looking and serves as a great white chalk holder!
 I’m so proud of this hanging creation! I upcycled the heck out of this moldy old mirror I dug out from the basement. It had crooked legs from where it used to attach to this moldy dresser we got rid of when we moved in. I had the hubby remove those legs and I disinfected this grimy piece.

For the aged wooden frame, I spray painted it shiny gold to give it a luxe look! You’ll notice the top part is only slightly spray painted because I wanted the gold to have a bronzed look on the wood.

The mirror was stained and really dull looking so I knew I was not going to use it as a mirror. Instead, I bought a craft foam brush and a few small bottles of chalkboard paint to repurpose this! I used up 1.5 30ml bottles of the paint; enough to do 2.5 layers. I left that dry for a whole day. I watched this video online that said to prime the chalkboard with chalk before using it but I skipped that part. I found it was easy to write on it already!

The last thing I did was order this espresso dark wood demilune table from Amazon. I needed an accent table that had two layers so that one would serve as decor while the other would serve as storage. I took the leftover gift basket from one of those Wine and Country gift baskets and made it into my cat’s toy box! It tickles me pink when I come home from work to a few toys scattered around the house. This tells me she has her favorites :). And now, I announce that my living room is full and fully decorated! 

Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

Leave a Reply

