Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

San Diego Trip

2 Comments

San Diego shimmer mani! I used Sinful Colors in a mauvey taupe metallic shade and Sally Hansen chrome pink for the accent nail. My fingers were finally slim enough for me to fit my rightful wedding ring again, haha. By the way, I have gained that weight right after this vacation :(. 

These delightful Mandarin ducks lived on the grounds of my hotel! I attended the Lean Kanban conference for 3 full days and it was hosted at the Catamaran Resort and Spa. I give the hotel lobby a 4-star rating and the rooms a 1-star rating. My living quarters were dismal! However, it was a good thing I spent most of my time at the conference or exploring San Diego with my coworkers. 

These bright macaws talked, mimicked other animal sounds and blew kisses to the guests! So cute. 

Overall, loved the Polynesian theme of the hotel but would never recommend anyone to stay here because of the exorbitant prices and low, outdated quality of the rooms. No mini fridge or even any desk room! The wifi was horrible and spotty for a conference! We were billed $235/night at the discounted corporate rate and it didn’t even include breakfast! Avoid this place!

At one of the lunches during the week, we ate at Humphrey’s and it had a tranquil and beautiful view of the marina. I loaded up on steak and frites :). 

This is one of the yummiest cupcakes ever–not too sweet, creamy and even had a bit of crunch with the rice cracker topping!

Mmmm…when in California, you must try the sushi! This is my hotel’s house roll featuring crab, eel, tempura shrimp, avocado, cucumber and nageri sauce. It was da bomb. 

San Diego Zoo time! This peacock wasn’t even in his exhibit! 

You can say I dressed for the occasion! My favorite exhibits were the Polar Bear Plunge and the gorilla family. The panda exhibit setup sucked but of course, the pandas themselves are cute. We spent a total of 8 hrs here. Let me tell you though–$100 for admission is no joke. You bet we saw every animal, took the skyfari cable cars and the double decker bus. 

This is my venture to Seaport Village as soon as I switched hotels to be in the Bayfront downtown area. I loved the location of my second hotel a lot better and I loved exploring all the sights. 

I absolutely LOVED all the vegetation of San Diego. It was a feast for the eyes! There were blooming purple trees everywhere called jacaranda and they were just gorgeous. 

This is the magical town of La Jolla. What a pretty and fun little jewel of a place! Getting up close and personal with those sea lions at the cove was my fave! It took everything in me to not hug all these adorable sea sausages! 

Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

2 thoughts on “San Diego Trip

  1. What a wonderful time you’ve had. Who would have thought you can have so much fun whilst attending a conference…

Leave a Reply

