Tiny Horse

Fashion, beauty, food, art…pleasing to the senses

Books + Manis

3 Comments

I hosted Thanksgiving this past week and it was a big accomplishment. Nine people under 1 roof: in-laws, family members, husband and even sister in law’s hubby were present. We deep fried a turkey (45 min tops) and put together meals for multiple days. The true star of the holiday season was Pangur Ban, as everyone wanted her cuddles and love :). Here she is with her momma during a rare quiet moment.

Throw back Friday to this cutie in the springtime! It only looks like she’s pushing me away but she’s a momma’s girl!

This was my birthday and Thanksgiving mani. I alternated a demure purplish gray and a light sorbet color with a Jamberry piece on the accent nail. You must preheat the Jamberry strips to make it adhere better but I never bother with my few sample pieces. As you can see, it doesn’t completely lay flat and got caught in my hair every time I touched it. Grrrr…

Shown here is The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison, featured as one of Goodreads’ horror section’s books of the year. It’s an easy, fast-paced interesting read without much depth or conviction. It’s a solid 3-star book though and not badly written but there are gaping plot holes and forced suspense. It’s a fine beach read or casual read but it makes me highly suspicious of any other Goodreads nominations for books of the year…

My current mani is a creamy Ulta pinkish orchid with a deep sparkly Estee Lauder plum. The plum shade photographs badly but it has micro glitter and really is beautiful in person.

I just finished reading The Adventures of John Carson in Seven Quarters of the World by Brian Doyle. I gave it a 3.5 star review only because it really was written in a similar style as the real Robert Louis Stevenson but in truth was a dull, trifling read. It sounded so adventurous but the structure was more of a stories within a story format. So basically, nothing really happened to any of the characters in real time and no one was particularly memorable.

Mmmmm…cheesecake bites from the WINergy womens’ conference I attended on Wednesday. I’m a sucker for prettily arranged dessert shots!

Author: frithe13th

I am a young professional who cares a great deal about fashion, beauty, food, literature, art--anything and everything that inspires and/or draws an incredible amount of awe from me.

3 thoughts on “Books + Manis

Leave a Reply

